Official: PKR retains Sg Kandis with majority of 5,842 votes

  • Aug 4, 2018
  • Views 138

Image Description

SG KANDIS POLLS | PKR has officially won the Sungai Kandis by-election with a majority of 5,842 votes.

According to the Election Commission, the new assemblyperson, Mohd Zawawi Ahmad Mughni, obtained 15,427 votes, while BN's Lokman Adam secured 9,585 votes.

Independent candidate K Murthy only received 97 votes.

Only 49.4 percent of Sungai Kandis voters cast their ballots.

The Sungai Kandis state seat fell vacant following the death of former PKR incumbent Mat Shuhaimi Shafiei on July 2 due to lymphoma.

In the May 9 general election, Shuhaimi won the seat with a 12,480-vote majority.